Was I happy yesterday? Scratch that.

1 Oct

A portrait of me*

Last night blew.

I think I may have gotten about 4 – 5 hours of fitful sleep.  Remember that laryngospasm I was waxing semi-nostalgic about (one source of my nighttime super-rude awakenings) like it may have been going the way of the buffalo?

Nope.

There was the 4:35 am Hackfest 2011™  and then the  6:50 am Hackfest 2011™.  That was after hitting the hay at midnight fulling intending to give in to the overwhelming physical exhaustion only to be kept awake by my steroid addled brain singing “Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go” over and over and over again.

Now I sit fitfully awake and pissed and waiting for the other shoe to drop.  The tired shoe, the pissed off one – because I can’t predict the arc of my sleep life let alone my recovery.  Come to think of it – that platform clog dropped a while ago.

They (and in certain circles, I) say one day at a time.  But you know what, sometimes that just isn’t enough.

The prednisone is starting to keep me up – my brain anyway.  My body is another story.  My body is exhausted.  My brain is up and ready to play.  (Maybe I should harness this?) I have never been an insomniac.  I have always laid my head on my pillow, inserted earplugs (I have a resident snorer) and no sooner donned my eye mask (don’t hate) and I am off to sleep.

Maybe I should just drag myself out of bed and go on an all night prednisone induced write-a-thon.  If only I weren’t so tired, I could use the Power of the Predni™ to clean the ever-loving so-and-so out of the apartment, paint the entire building, run a marathon twice a day and hula hoop through the whole of the Dexter DVD collection.

* Photo courtesy of the Ingrid Walker archives © in perpetuity.

One Response to “Was I happy yesterday? Scratch that.”

  1. ingrid October 1, 2011 at 3:34 pm #

    I’m imagining Tim running into you (see photo) middle of the night, screaming a girlie-scream, and running out into the ‘hood. I don’t know why. (did that happen?)

    And by the way, I think I heard your platform clog all the way out here.

    I don’t know what to suggest. I’m a light sleeper whose body thinks 30 minutes is plenty. Apparently I was a meerkat ina former life, always vigilant. So I have to fake myself into sleeping longer. It’s a long, boring game, (the game of pillows), but I recommend–if it’s kosher–benadryl. You can take it middle of the night when you’ve wound up and, in 40 min of reading, will want to snooze again. It’s not perfect, it’s likely to let you wake for Hackfest 6:50 a.m. TM, but it will also be pretty easy on you. Try it. You’ll like it. Excess and ohs,

    ingrid the meerkat

Leave a Reply

